Best Change in the Game…

Ok, I know I’m a week behind but bear with me peoples I have a lot on right now!

The site redesign is stalled until I can find a way of converting my lovely new header and whatnot into wordpress friendly formats and until my lovely web-boy gets back from his week long drinking binge and can help me out!

Anyway. I have been lacking somewhat and am actually a week behind but as I love the topic so much I am still going to post on last weeks Blog Azeroth shared topic.

It was suggested by HoTs and DoTs, a website I’ve spotlighted and mentioned a few times.

If you want to scroll past my random splurge of brain matter about the ICC debate, and the “level” of WoW in the world now, please click here.

I’ve not been playing WoW anywhere near as long as a lot of people, but I feel like while I have been playing I have been through a variety of different stereotypes. I have been the total noob (don’t get me started on what happened to my level 16 human mage, my very “first” WoW character…), my sporadic smattering of talent points, and my “oo! that has the most armour that’s the bit I want to wear!” attitude towards gear up until the mid 40s.

I have been the casual level 70 – dailies, the odd heroic, barely logging on.

I have been the slow, slow leveller from 71-80, watching an entire guild pass me by.

From Christmas 08 to April 09, I was what I would define as a hardcore raider (in comparison to my own standards – something for another post at another time, I feel).

And now, I am a…raider. I am a lover of achievements, of alts, of “completion”, of raids, of heroics, of meeting people, of making friends, of the relationships I’ve forged outside of the game, or the friendships I wouldn’t want to be without, of everything and anything WoW related.

I am a massive fan of Blizzard. I realise that yes, sometimes they get things wrong. But my god, look at what they’ve got right. For me, they provide a hobby, a source of fun, a source of competition, a source of enjoyment, a source of friends, a source of laughter.

I understand that things may not be fit for purpose for a lot of people, but I feel incredibly lucky that they are fit for purpose for me. And you know what, sometimes they may not be.

I felt more than a little disgruntled when I was in full Best-in-Slot gear during the times when Naxxramas was the only raid. About a week before 3.1 hit, I looked the business, in WoW terms. And then everything I’d worked for became irrelevant. In my own, personal blog, I documented the day I got the first Torch of Holy Fire for our guild. A couple of weeks later, Ulduar dropped and I was no longer a raider. I saw everyones gear shoot straight past my own, people were talking about triumph badges suddenly, when I only had a couple of conquest.

But equalisation will always happen in WoW. And in some ways I am grateful. For me to go from a total noob to a raider in a year, and to be able to succeed – if they hadn’t made WoW the game it is today, through it;s many, many evolutions, I probably wouldn’t be able to be.

A lot of debate has raged over this particular topic recently, accidentally possibly sparked off by the lovely Leafshine, whose blog I always enjoy reading. I think I probably fall closest to him in my opinion but my playstyle probably falls closest to his too.

I’m rambling, and going totally off topic, but I feel it fits well. Changes made by the game designers and developers cause masses of debate on a day to day basis by the bloggers in the WoW community – just take a look at the tons of posts there are about the new gating system for Icecrown. That’s a change that’s caused masses amount of upheaval and dispute and general debate by bloggers worldwide.

Changes are totally subjective. The way Naxx unlocked was totally different to the way ICC will unlock. Some people prefer it one way, some people prefer it the other. To me…when it comes to dungeons and raids, it simply doesn’t really matter. I realise it’s intensely important. I know, fmor my guild forums, it’s important to some of my friends and colleagues in Flames. But the changes that matter to me are most definitely different to the changes that matter to other people. Really, Cass and Lathere did it best with their post here.

So, here are my best changes in game.

  1. Reputation from killing creatures does not decrease when they are “greyed out”. As a lover of reputations and achievements, I like the fact that rep grinds are much easier than they used to be. I realise that this makes it a lot easier for me than it has been for other people, but it is certainly good for me!
  2. Add-ons. I played without a single add-on from level 1 to 70. Mainly because I had accidentally divided my hard drive and had WoW saved to two places. Don’t ask how I did it, because I don’t know. I also don’t know what add-ons were around in the past/present, what have you. But for me, using add-ons is fabulous. I have progressed from healbot to using pitbull and clique, which I love, and I love being able to fiddle around with and play around with my UI. It’s lots of fun and there are now some I wouldn’t want to live without – atlasloot, or even atlas. AutoProfit and AuroRepair are two tiny things that make a world of difference to my playing experience. Multishot is my favourite add-on of all time though, by far.
  3. The achievement system. This is both a bad thing and a good. It caters to my obsessive personality, gives me things to track, things to work on, things to work towards, and I get a massive sense of satisfaction when I complete something awesome, even if all I get as a reward are essentially ten useless points. It’s a bad thing because it just makes me spend more time on WoW!, but overall it’s great for me because it’s opened up a whole other aspect and angle for me to enjoy WoW with.

I think for me, for now, that’s it.

WoW is full of countless things that have made my life better – mostly illustrated by HoTs and DoTs – vanity pets and mounts being in a tab, for example. Mana biscuits (exploding strudels, as we call them) – om nom nom.

I’m just very grateful to Blizzard for making the game at all.

When I think about the experiences, the gaming, the learning, the friends, the people…especially the people – I wouldn’t have come into contact with without this game.

I think I am incredibly lucky to play. This neatly intertwines with the shared topic I didn’t feel up to commenting on, about relationships within Azeroth.

If I look back on the past two years of my WoW gaming, I realise that there are a few things I wouldn’t ever want to have not experienced.

Thinking about this has put me into a bit of a spiral of thoughts, and I’ve decided to document what I’m going to call my WoW Hall of Fame.
Check it out here.

Leave a Reply

