Spotlight: Righteous Orbs

This site has got to be one of the BEST I read and subscribe to.
I love the humour, I love the wittiness but I also love the humanity to it – there’s no “I’m the BEST”, it’s just frank discussions of loads of different aspects of wow.

One of my favourite posts recently has a fantastic section I’d like to share, the whole post is really understandable as a healer who PuGs instances occasionally;

Also I think I can probably see their side of it – I mean, I came in there, swinging my WoWcock around like one of those incense-burning thingies they have in churches. During the World of Woe stage of the business, the mage did make some quip about me insisting people play the game my way – I replied to the effect that running after a wipe was merely good manners and not standing in dangerous stuff was considered advantageous in most circumstances. So, yes, in that sense I suppose I did want them to play the game my way – in a way that didn’t make me doing my job any harder than it had to be.

And, again, there was that insistence on getting through it and doing our jobs.

Doing our jobs? Doing my job is something I do during the day, and I get paid for it.

Playing WoW is something I do when I’m expecting to relax and have fun, and for which I don’t expect to be paid.

Also why should one “put up and shut up” when people in the game treat you badly? No amount of emblems are worth that. Equally, as a healer, I am not public property. Healing is something I do because I enjoy it, not to facilitate the game for others. I owed them nothing… yet they very much thought I did. In fact, they thought my duty to them extended to beyond healing – into taking shit from them as well.

Please take a look at Righteous Orbs

Elsenx

Leave a Reply

